A Beautiful Wedding Ring Explanation

There is a beautiful explanation given by the Chinese…
(One that I don’t know if I believe or not, but it is a beautiful thought nonetheless)

Your thumb represents your Parents.
Your index finger represents your Siblings.
Your middle finger represents Yourself.
Your ring finger represents your Life Partner.
Your last (pinkie) finger represents your Children .

First, open your palms (face to face), bend the middle fingers and hold them together — back to back. Then open and hold the remaining three fingers and the thumb tip to tip.
As shown below:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now, try to separate your thumbs (representing your parents) they will open, because your parents are not destined to live with you lifelong and have to leave you sooner or later.

Please join your thumbs as before and separate your index fingers (representing your siblings) they will also open, because your brothers and sisters will have their own families and will have to lead their own separate lives.

Now join the index fingers and separate your little fingers (representing your children) they will open too, because the children also will get married and settle down on their own someday.

Finally, join your little fingers and try to separate your ring fingers (representing your spouse). You will be surprised to see that you just CANNOT, because husband and wife are meant to remain together all their lives.


Now for a scientific explanation of The Paralysed Ring finger.

Try this…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Bend your middle finger and place the centre section on a table or hard surface. You will be able to lift your thumb, index, and little finger without moving your middle finger. But it is impossible to lift your ring finger.
What is happening?
The tendons in your fingers are independent from one another apart from the ones in your middle and ring finger. These tendons are connected, so that when your middle finger is folded down you cannot move your ring finger. It feels like your ring finger is stuck!
This experiment was written by Stephanie Weaver.


I found the above scientific explanation at Science Made Simple.


I thought it was very interesting….Plus, The Chinese Explanation is just a beautiful sentiment.
Which leads me to todays Question….
How were you proposed to?
I unfortunately was never proposed to….Eric and I basically just decided to elope. There were no proposals. Which now I find incredibly sad. Because now when our children ask “How did Dad propose to you (Of course when they are older)?” I will not have anything to say….And saying That we eloped just doesn’t seems all that great to tell a child. I don’t regret getting married in the least….I do regret not getting a proposal, but that was also my doing as well as my husbands….Moving on…

I want to hear about how you were proposed to.
I hope you all have a Terrific Monday!

5 responses to “A Beautiful Wedding Ring Explanation

  1. My husband blurted out the proposal the day before Halloween as he hugged me bye in his leather jacket in front of my house. We’re married now for 5 years. I’m glad.

  2. WOW! That is neat. My children always like these little “experiments”. Thanks for telling me about it.

    Cara

  3. This is really interestingm thanks for posting!!

    Do you mind visiting hubby today at http://www.valtool.blogspot.com? Hes having a down day!

  4. That chinese thing is neat!!

    As to the proposal…not romantic at all. We were 17 and yes we’d already talked marriage at some point. We went to dinner, he was going to ask me there but he said I sat too close to the door to do it in the restaurant. OOOOO-kay. So he asked me IN his car, IN the mall’s parking garage. LOL!!

    Funny thing is, our best friends, had shopped for rings, and he’d had it for a while. Took her to the mall on Feb. 13th to make sure they still agreed on the same ring. Then he couldn’t wait any longer, he asked her IN his truck IN the mall’s parking garage instead of the way he’d had it all planned out another way. LOL!!

    Our guys & their ‘un’romantic proposals!!

  5. Maybe you could tell them how he proposed the idea of having your wonderful children to you instead of marriage. Or a renewal proposal. :)

Leave a Reply

